Learn More


Community Supervision

This unit consists of 33 local offices throughout the state that oversees the case management operations for youth under court ordered probation and aftercare services. Community Services also includes the local resource units, which assist in facilitating in-home and out-of-home committed treatment services for youth.

Region I - Baltimore City​
(Baltimore City)
Bernice Walker

Region II – Central Maryland
(Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, and Howard Counties)
Mathew Fonseca

Region III – Western Maryland
(Allegany, Frederick, Garrett, and Washington Counties)
Singleton Golden

Region IV – Eastern Shore
(Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and Worcester Counties)
Cory Fink

Region V – Southern Maryland
(Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary's Counties)
Douglas Mohler

Region VI – Metro
(Montgomery and Prince George's Counties)
Delmonica Hawkins

Kara Aanenson
Director, Resource Office / Director of Family Engagement

Kara Aanenson

The Community Supervision division oversees the Department of Juvenile Services' process for placement of youth, education transition services for committed youth, and utilization of out-of-state placement facilities; coordinates with the DJS budget office, and licensing and monitoring unit, and local regions to support a continuum of effective resources for committed youth; manages the Title IV-B permanency review process consistent with federal requirements and DJS re-entry procedures; ensures compliance with applicable laws, regulations and standards concerning the Interstate Compact for Juveniles and Interstate Compact for Placement of Children; provides DJS representation on various interagency committees and councils, including the Interagency Rates Committee, Interagency Placement Committee, and the Interagency Council on Homelessness.​