Pre-Adjudication Services

The Office of Pre-Adjudication Services and Reform contains the statewide intake, community detention, and reform and equity operations of eight (8) Department of Juvenile Services regions and 33 field offices across Maryland.

The Office of Pre-Adjudication Services and Reform is comprised of (8) regional intake directors, the director of reform and equity, and the director of community detention operations. The Office is responsible for:

  • Managing and monitoring a uniform statewide approach for the review of intake complaints and to make certain appropriate assessments and review are conducted to promote the best interest of the child and public safety;
  • The Community Detention Operations including Community Detention, GPS Monitoring, Baltimore City Evening Reporting Center; and,
  • Statewide reform and equity initiatives and its statewide reform and equity operations at all levels of the juvenile justice system.

In July 2020, the Department implemented the validated Intake Decision Tool (IDT). The IDT is intended to ensure fair and equitable decisions that are developmentally appropriate, culturally proficient, and tailored to the risk, needs, and strengths of youth. The Department aims to divert youth from court involvement when possible and refer the youth and family to services when needed, including high-risk youth who may be safely supervised by DJS with interventions that reduce the risk of recidivism. 

Region I
(Dorchester, Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester Counties)
Intake Director – Christa Fletcher

Region II
​​​​(Caroline, Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne's, and Talbot Counties)​
Intake Director – Joe Grabis

Region III
(Baltimore and Harford Counties)
Intake Director – Wendy Hildebrand​

Region IV
​​(Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties)
Intake Director – Heather Hibbard

Region V
​​(Anne Arundel, Howard, and Carroll Counties)
Intake Director – Andrea McKeon

Region VI
(Frederick and Montgomery Counties)
Intake Director - ​Kimberly Foster

Region VII
​​(Calvert, Charles, Prince George's, and St. Mary's Counties)​​
Intake Director - Kwabena Tuffour

Region VIII
(Baltimore City)
Intake Director - Chashelle Warren

Community Detention Operations

CD Administrator: Darren Hare Regions 4, 5, 6, 7
CD Administrator: Laressa Feldman-Jackson Regions 1, 2, 3, 8​