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Legislative Session Overview 
 
The Maryland General Assembly convened for its 433rd session on Wednesday, January 
9, 2013. During their 90 days in Annapolis, the legislature considered 2,610 pieces of 
legislation and the State’s annual operating budget. Specifically, in the Senate 1,075 bills 
were introduced. In the House, there were 1,535 bill introductions.  By sine die at midnight 
on April 8th, the 90th day of the 2013 regular session, the General Assembly passed 766 
bills, including a balanced operating Budget Bill (HB 100). By the passing of a Budget Bill, 
the General Assembly avoid the extended session required by the Maryland Constitution, 
during which only the budget may be considered. The General Assembly also agreed to 
adopt the capital Budget Bill (HB 101). 
 

The Office of Legislation and Policy 
 
The primary role of the Office of Legislation and Policy during legislative session is to 
effectively represent the interests of the Department of Juvenile Services before the 
Maryland General Assembly.   The Office of Legislation and Policy, in conjunction with the 
Secretary, Chief-of-Staff, and the Legislative Committee accomplishes its objectives by 
promoting, supporting or opposing legislation and policy decisions; analyzing, interpreting, 
reviewing, and drafting legislation; working with or referring issues to others with the 
requisite expertise and interest; and serving as a credible resource on juvenile justice 
issues for legislators and other relevant state agencies. This year the Office of Legislation 
and Policy welcomed an additional staff member to assist in coordinating the agency’s 

legislative priorities.  

 
2014 Budget: 

 
1. Operating and Capital Budget 
HB 100 Operating Budget: passed 
The DJS fiscal team, led by the agency’s CFO, was able to develop a budget, supporting 
materials, and analysis that resulted in DJS successfully advocating for a budget that 
resulted in no cuts to the Department’s $280.6 million general fund request. The 
Department’s budget increases funding in contractual employment to support an additional 
24 facility direct care positions. The budget also supports increased capacity in community 
residential placements. In addition, the Department received supplemental funding in the 
amount of $308,537 to begin the process of complying with the federal Prison Rape 
Elimination Act (PREA). Supplemental funding was also received to establish a Child in 
Need of Supervision (CINS) Program in Prince George’s County.   
 
With respect to personnel, State employees receive a 3.0% general salary increase on 
January 1, 2014, and merit increments on April 1, 2014.  
 
DJS was able to work closely with leadership in both budget committees and sub-
committees, and legislative staff to provide necessary information and address issues 
quickly.  In prior years the budget committees have required DJS to report on various 
fiscal and operational issues. Although the budget committees continue to request various 
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reports from the agency, this year the number of reports is substantially reduced. This is in 
part due to the agency’s ability to successfully advocate for a reasonable budget and 
address concerns in a timely and comprehensive manner.  (Please refer to page 32 for a 
full list of JCR requirements.)   
 
 
HB 101 Capital Budget: passed 
DJS Capital Team, led by the Director of Capital Projects, was also able to successfully 
advocate for a capital budget that continues to move the agency’s capital priorities 
forward.  DJS was successful in educating the budget committees of the agency’s capital 
needs.  
 
There were significant issues that occurred during the 2012 interim that resulted in a re-
prioritization of the DJS capital projects.  At the beginning of this legislative session, DJS 
in collaboration with DPSCS, announced an alternative plan to building the DPSCS Youth 
Detention Center in Baltimore City. A component of the alternative plan is to construct a 
DJS Treatment Center in Baltimore City.  Additionally, DJS, after considerable effort, has 
been unable to identify a site for the Southern Maryland Detention Center.  As a result, the 
Baltimore City Treatment Center is a high priority and the Southern Maryland Detention 
Center project has fallen to a lower priority. The changes permitted DJS to begin the 
process of replacing the Waxter Detention Center that houses a majority of our female 
detention population on the site of the O’Farrell Center in Carroll County. 
 

 
Goals of the 2013 Legislative Session: 

 
The DJS legislative agenda – set by the Secretary and developed, in part, by the Office of 
Legislation and Policy and the Governor’s Office – was focused on improving public safety 
and supporting agency operations.  Although DJS prioritized the agency’s legislative 
agenda, much time was spent on defeating or amending legislation that would negatively 
impact DJS.  During the 2013 Legislative Session, DJS achieved significant legislative and 
policy victories.  
 
Overall, DJS was supported a total of 13 bills, 6 of which passed. DJS opposed 21 bills, 
and all bills failed or were amended in a manner to address DJS’s opposition. DJS 
successfully amended 6 bills.  
 
The following sets out the goals and objectives during the 2013 Legislative Session:  
 
Outcome of Top Priorities – DJS Legislative Agenda 
 
1. HB 264 Juvenile Law – Juvenile Records – Disclosure: passed. 
 
DJS is currently authorized to provide access to and the confidential use of a treatment 
plan of a child by an agency in the District of Columbia or a state agency in Virginia if the 
agency (1) performs the same functions in its jurisdiction as DJS does in Maryland; (2) has 
a reciprocity agreement with Maryland; and (3) has custody of the child. A shared record 
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may only provide information that is relevant to the supervision, care, and treatment of the 
child. House Bill 264 expands access to juvenile records by authorizing access to juvenile 
court records by any agency described above or by any State agency in Delaware, 
Pennsylvania, or West Virginia that meets the established criteria. The bill also repeals the 
requirement that the agency have custody of the child in order to obtain access to the 
information. 
 
2. HB 246 Juvenile Law – Placement Visits – Video Conferencing: failed 
HB 246 would have permitted DJS case managers to utilize video conferencing to 
complete the requirement of visiting youth in placement once a month. HB 246 promoted 
efficient case management services; only permitted video conferencing in DJS operated 
facilities; and maintained the courts discretion to order increased visitation. 
 
The leadership of the Judiciary Committee had several concerns regarding the use of 
video-conferencing in general, as well as its application in HB 246. Additionally, the 
Administrative Office of the Courts opposed the bill.  HB 246 was voted unfavorable by the 
House Judiciary Committee.  
 
3. Criminal Procedure – Restitution and Other Payments – Referral to the Central 
Collection Unit:  (Not Introduced) 
 
This bill was not introduced this session. 
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High Impact Legislation  
 

 
Bill 

 
Description 

 
Result 

HB 165/ 
SB 807-  
Elementary and 
Secondary Education - 
Security - School 
Resource Officers 

Requiring each county superintendent of schools to enter into an agreement with an appropriate 
law enforcement agency to provide a school resource officer to each public elementary and 
secondary school; providing that additional funding required for school resource officers shall be 
paid from the Education Trust Fund from funds allocated from a specified source; and making the 
Act an emergency measure. 
 

FAILED: 
Unfavorable W& M 

HB 183/ 
SB 441- Correctional 
Training Commission – 
Members 
 

Altering the membership of the Correctional Training Commission. 
 

Returned Passed 

HB 282/ 
SB 229 - Courts - 
Juveniles - Expungement 
of Records 

Authorizing a person to file a specified petition for expungement of specified juvenile records; 
authorizing the court to order the expungement of a specified record under specified 
circumstances; requiring the court to consider specified criteria in its consideration of a specified 
petition for expungement of records; authorizing the court to rule on a petition for expungement 
with or without a hearing; etc. 
 

FAILED: 
HB FAV in JUD 
UNFAV in JPR 

HB 327/ 
SB 385 - State 
Government - Health, 
Education, and Social 
Services - Submission of 
Documents in Electronic 
Form (DocVault/MARFY) 

Requiring the Council for the Procurement of Health, Education, and Social Services to establish a 
workgroup to determine a process for specified entities to submit specified electronic documents to 
specified agencies; requiring the Council to report to specified committees of the General 
Assembly on or before January 1, 2014; etc. 

Returned Passed 

HB 433/ 
SB 412 - Agriculture - 
Lawn Care Pesticides - 
Child Care and School 
Facilities - Prohibition 

Prohibiting, with a specified exception, a person from applying a lawn care pesticide on the 
grounds of specified child care facilities and schools; authorizing a person to apply a lawn care 
pesticide on the grounds of specified child care facilities and schools if the Secretary of Agriculture 
determines that the emergency application is necessary to eliminate an immediate threat to human 
health; requiring a specified notice of an emergency application; etc. 

FAILED: 
Withdrawn 

HB 588/ 
SB 473 - Baltimore City - 
Children - Records Access 

Authorizing access to specified court records and police records by the Baltimore City Health 
Department's Office of Youth Violence Prevention and the Baltimore City Mayor's Office on 
Criminal Justice under specified circumstances; requiring that the Baltimore City Health 
Department's Office of Youth Violence Prevention and the Baltimore City Mayor's Office on 
Criminal Justice be liable for the unauthorized release of specified records and information; etc. 

Returned Passed 

HB 604/ 
SB 536 - Department of 
Juvenile Services - 
Graduated Responses - 
Report 

Requiring the Department of Juvenile Services to report to specified committees of the General 
Assembly on or before December 1, 2014, on the implementation of a system of graduated 
responses for children under the jurisdiction of the Department. 
 

Returned Passed 

HB 679 - Juvenile 
Services - Group Homes 
and Institutions - Notice 
Requirement 

Requiring the Department of Juvenile Services to provide a specified notice to a specified law 
enforcement agency before contracting for or authorizing the creation of a group home or an 
institution operated by a nonprofit or for-profit entity; requiring that specified information be 
included in the notice; etc. 

FAILED: 
Unfavorable JUD 

HB 711/ 
SB 732 - Juvenile Law - 
Prohibition Against 
Continued Detention 

Prohibiting the continued detention, beyond emergency detention, of a child under the age of 14, 
unless the child is alleged to have committed an act that, if committed by an adult, would be 
punishable by death or life imprisonment. 

FAILED: 
No action JUD 

HB 786 - Juvenile Law - 
Task Force on Juvenile 
Court Jurisdiction 

Establishing the Task Force on Juvenile Court Jurisdiction; establishing the duties of the Task 
Force; requiring the Task Force to study issues including whether to eliminate the existing 
exclusionary offenses that automatically result in adult charges for youth and restore juvenile court 
discretion; requiring the Task Force to report its findings to the Governor and General Assembly 
on or before December 1, 2013; etc. 

Returned Passed 

HB 823/ 
SB 764 - Task Force to 
Study Housing and 
Supportive Services for 
Unaccompanied Homeless 
Youth 

Establishing the Task Force to Study Housing and Supportive Services for Unaccompanied 
Homeless Youth; providing for the composition, chair, and staffing of the Task Force; prohibiting a 
member of the Task Force from receiving specified compensation, but authorizing the 
reimbursement of specified expenses; establishing the duties of the Task Force; requiring the Task 
Force to submit a specified report on or before November 1, 2013; etc. 

Returned Passed 
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HB 829 - Correctional 
Services - Pregnant 
Detainees and Inmates - 
Restraint Restrictions 

Requiring that the medical professional responsible for the care of an inmate determine when the 
inmate's health allows the inmate to be returned to a correctional facility after giving birth; 
providing that it is the policy of the State that restraint of pregnant inmates during labor and 
delivery should not be used unless determined necessary by an attending medical professional or 
specified others; requiring the security officer of a correctional facility to make and maintain 
specified written findings; etc. 

FAILED: 
Conference 
Committee – No 
concurrence 

HB 848/ 
SB 454 - Juveniles - 
Confinement in Juvenile 
Facilities 

Requiring a specified child for whom the juvenile court has waived jurisdiction under specified 
circumstances to remain detained in a juvenile facility except under specified circumstances; 
requiring a specified child to be transferred to a specified juvenile facility except under specified 
circumstances; etc. 

FAILED: 
Withdrawn  

HB 870 - Criminal 
Procedure - Confidentiality 
of Police and Court 
Records Pertaining to 
Minor 

Providing that specified police and court records pertaining to a minor are confidential and their 
contents may not be divulged except under specified circumstances; etc. 

FAILED: 
Unfavorable JUD 

HB 916/ 
SB 791 - Juvenile Law - 
Dispositions - Placement 
Guidance 

Prohibiting the juvenile court, except under specified circumstances, from committing a child who 
has committed a specified offense to the Department of Juvenile Services for out-of-home 
placement; etc. 

Passed Enrolled 

HB 945 - Children's 
Cabinet in the Governor's 
Office for Children - Study 
on Health and Social 
Services Needs of 
Juveniles 

Requiring the Children's Cabinet in the Governor's Office for Children to review, compile, and 
report on specified information regarding efforts or programs related to mental, emotional, and 
behavioral disorders in juveniles; requiring the Children's Cabinet to make recommendations on 
the development of a specified combined care management model and the development of a 
specified screening tool; and requiring the Children's Cabinet to report its findings and 
recommendations to the General Assembly on or before December 1, 2013. 

FAILED: 
Withdrawn 

HB 966/ 
SB 788 - Task Force to 
Study Citations for 
Children and Law 
Enforcement Diversion 
Practices 

Establishing the Task Force to Study Citations for Children and Law Enforcement Diversion 
Practices; providing for the composition, chair, and staffing of the Task Force; prohibiting a 
member of the Task Force from receiving specified compensation, but authorizing the 
reimbursement of specified expenses; requiring the Task Force to study and make 
recommendations regarding specified matters; etc. 

FAILED: 
Withdrawn 

HB 1010 - Public Safety - 
Inappropriate Search of 
Minor by Public Servant - 
Penalties 

Prohibiting a public servant from conducting a specified inappropriate search of a minor without 
probable cause that the minor is concealing contraband or a weapon or without the consent of the 
parent or guardian of the minor; establishing penalties for a violation of the Act; and defining terms. 

FAILED: 
Unfavorable JUD 

HB 1125/ 
SB 388 - Victims of Crime 
- Identity Theft Passport - 
Children 

Requiring the Department of Human Resources to assist a child who has been identified as a 
victim of identity fraud to apply for an identity theft passport under specified circumstances; and 
requiring the Department of Juvenile Services to assist a child who has been identified as a victim 
of identity fraud to apply for an identity theft passport under specified circumstances. 
 

FAILED: 
Unfavorable JUD 

HB 1186 - Task Force on 
the Prevention of Child 
Abuse and Neglect 

Establishing the Task Force on the Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect; providing for the 
composition, chair, and staffing of the Task Force; requiring the Task Force to study and make 
recommendations regarding matters including methods to adopt and implement policy addressing 
the prevention of child abuse that may include age-appropriate curricula for students in pre-
kindergarten through fifth grade; requiring a report on or before December 1, 2013; etc. 
 

FAILED: 
House FAV/PASSED 
No action JPR 

HB 1188/ 
SB 215 - Criminal Law - 
Human Trafficking - 
Victims 

Altering a provision concerning the age of a victim for purposes of specified prohibitions against 
felony human trafficking. 

FAILED: 
No action JUD 

HB 1201 - Baltimore City - 
New Youth Detention 
Facility - Commission on 
Delinquency and Youth 
Detention Prevention 

Establishing the Commission on Delinquency and Youth Detention Prevention; providing for the 
composition, chair, and staffing of the Commission; prohibiting a member of the Commission from 
receiving compensation, but authorizing the reimbursement of specified expenses; requiring the 
Commission to administer a specified fund; requiring the Commission to report allocations from the 
fund to the Governor and the General Assembly annually on or before a specified date; etc. 
 

FAILED: 
Unfavorable APP 

HB 1228 - Commission to 
Study the Disproportionate 
Justice Impact on 
Minorities 

Establishing the Commission to Study the Disproportionate Justice Impact on Minorities; providing 
for the composition, chair, and staffing of the Commission; prohibiting a member of the 
Commission from receiving specified compensation, but authorizing the reimbursement of 
specified expenses; requiring the Commission to identify, study, report on, and make 
recommendations regarding specified matters; requiring the Commission to hold at least two 
public hearings within a specified period of time; etc. 

FAILED: 
Unfavorable JUD 
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HB 1297/ 
SB 897 - Consumer 
Protection - Security 
Freezes - Children in 
Foster Care Settings 

Requiring the Social Services Administration of the Maryland Department of Human Resources to 
request a security freeze on the consumer report or a specified record of specified protected 
consumers who are minor children in the custody of a local department of social services who 
have been placed in a foster care setting in accordance with specified application procedures; 
requiring a consumer reporting agency to place a security freeze for a protected consumer under 
specified circumstances and within a specified period of time; etc. 

Passed Enrolled 

HB 1307/ 
SB 939 - Juvenile 
Services - Group Homes 
and Institutions - Notice 

Requiring the Department of Juvenile Services to provide a specified notice to the head of a 
specified law enforcement agency before contracting with a specified group home or institution for 
the placement of children under the jurisdiction of the Department of Juvenile Services. 

FAILED: 
Unfavorable JUD 

HB 1320 - Baltimore City 
and Baltimore County - 
Child in Need of 
Supervision Pilot Program 
- Extension 

Extending the termination date of the Child in Need of Supervision Pilot Program in Baltimore City 
and Baltimore County. 

Returned Passed 

HB 1338 - Prince George's 
County Juvenile Court and 
School Safety Workgroup 
PG 306-13 

Establishing the Prince George's County Juvenile Court and School Safety Workgroup; providing 
for the composition, co-chairs, and staffing of the Workgroup; prohibiting a member of the 
Workgroup from receiving compensation, but authorizing specified reimbursement; requiring the 
Workgroup to develop policies and protocols, create a specified process, develop criteria for 
programs, and hold specified meetings; requiring the Workgroup to present a specified report to 
the Prince George's County Delegation on or before December 15, 2013; etc. 

Returned Passed 
 

 

HB 1377/ 
SB 956 - State 
Government - Mental 
Health and Law 
Enforcement Advisory 
Board 

Establishing the Mental Health and Law Enforcement Advisory Board; providing for the 
composition, chair, and staffing of the Board; requiring the Board to make recommendations 
regarding the establishment of a Maryland Criminal Justice and Behavioral Health State Technical 
Assistance Center, report its findings and recommendations on or before June 30, 2014, to the 
Governor and specified committees of the General Assembly, and provide ongoing support and 
assistance to the Center; etc. 

FAILED: 
Withdrawn 

SB 297 - Criminal Law - 
Possession of Marijuana - 
De Minimis Quantity 

Altering the penalty for use or possession of less than 10 grams of marijuana; making the violation 
a civil offense punishable by a fine not exceeding $100; etc. 
 

FAILED: 
Passed the Senate - 
No action in House 

SB 395 - Juvenile 
Services - State-Licensed 
Facilities - Size Limit 
Exception - Repeal 

Altering an exception that allows a committed facility licensed by the Department of Juvenile 
Services to serve more than 48 children at one time under specified circumstances if the Secretary 
of Juvenile Services finds good cause. 

FAILED: 
Withdrawn 

SB 442-  Residential Child 
Care Programs - 
Memorandum of 
Understanding 

Requiring a contract awarded or renewed between a specified agency and a provider of a 
residential child care program to require the provider to enter into a memorandum of 
understanding with a specified community organization and post the memorandum of 
understanding in a specified location; specifying the contents of a memorandum of understanding; 
requiring a memorandum of understanding to be in writing and signed by specified 
representatives; etc. 

FAILED: 
Unfavorable EHE 

SB 648 - Juvenile Law - 
Jurisdiction and Detention 

Establishing that the juvenile court has jurisdiction over a specified child alleged to have committed 
specified acts that, if committed by an adult, would be specified crimes, or over a specified child 
who has previously been convicted of a felony; prohibiting a child from waiving the right to counsel 
at a waiver hearing; etc. 

FAILED: 
No action JPR 

SB 654 - Criminal Law - 
Safe Harbor for Minors Act 
of 2013 

Establishing a minimum age at which a person may be charged with prostitution offenses; 
establishing a presumption that if a minor who is 16 or 17 years of age is charged with a 
prostitution offense, the minor was coerced into committing the offense; and establishing that it is 
not a defense to a prosecution of prostitution and human trafficking offenses that a person who 
consented to specified acts may not be prosecuted due to the person's age. 

FAILED: 
Withdrawn 

SB 678 - Juvenile 
Services - Community-
Based Diversion Pilot 
Program 

Requiring the Secretary of Juvenile Services to develop a Community-Based Diversion Pilot 
Program; requiring the Secretary to consult with representatives from the Annie E. Casey 
Foundation when developing the Pilot Program; establishing the purpose of the Pilot Program; 
requiring the Secretary to establish a specified juvenile day-treatment center in Baltimore City, 
require specified juveniles to report daily to the treatment center, establish specified community 
monitoring, and hire specified counselors; etc. 

FAILED: 
Withdrawn 

SB 818 - Community 
Juvenile Services Program 

Establishing the Community Juvenile Services Program; requiring the Governor to appoint a State 
Coordinator for Community Juvenile Services; establishing the compensation of the State 
Coordinator; establishing the Community Juvenile Services Committee; providing for the 
membership and duties of the Committee; establishing the purpose of the Program; authorizing 
counties to participate in the Program by developing a specified local plan; etc. 
 
 

FAILED: 
No action in JPR 
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SB 831 - State Budget - 
Evidence-Based Policy 
Options 

Establishing the Committee on State Budget Evidence-Based Policy Options; requiring the 
Committee annually to determine the policy areas in the State operating budget that should 
receive an analysis of evidence-based policy options and to report on the analysis on or before 
October 1 of each year beginning in 2013; requesting the Governor to review the Committee's 
report during the preparation of a proposed budget; requiring the Secretary of Budget and 
Management to include consideration of the Committee's report in studies; etc. 
 

FAILED: 
Passed the Senate –  
No action in APP 

SB 1033 - Public 
Education - Alternative 
Schooling 

Adding and modifying an exception to the requirement that specified students attend a public 
school regularly during the entire school year; requiring the State Department of Education to 
adopt standards for the suspension or expulsion of a student under a provision of law and the 
readmission of a student to a specified school; requiring county boards of education and the Board 
of School Commissioners of Baltimore City to establish alternative schooling for specified students 
under specified circumstances; etc. 

FAILED: 
Withdrawn 

 
 

Passed Legislation 
 

State Agencies 
 

Procedures for Protecting Personal Information 
In response to concerns regarding the handling and protection of personal information 
by State and local governments, Senate Bill 676 (passed) establishes, for units of 
State and local government (not including legislative or judicial agencies), specified 
requirements for protecting an individual’s private information from unauthorized 
access. A unit that collects an individual’s personal information must implement and 
maintain reasonable security procedures and practices appropriate to the nature of the 
information collected and the nature of the unit and its operations. Similarly, a unit that 
uses a nonaffiliated third party as a service provider and discloses personal information 
about an individual must require that the third party implement and maintain reasonable 
security procedures and practices, as specified by the bill. A unit that discovers or is 
notified of a breach of the security system is required to take specified actions. 
 
The provisions of Senate Bill 676 preempt local law and do not relieve a unit of a duty 
under federal law to protect personal information. However, a government unit or 
nonaffiliated third party that complies with specified federal laws and guidelines shall be 
deemed to be in compliance with the provisions of the bill. 
 
Commissions and Workgroups 
The Council for the Procurement of Health, Education, and Social Services was 
established by Chapters 212 and 213 of 2012 to advise the Board of Public Works on 
the implementation of the recommendations of the Task Force to Study the 
Procurement of Health, Education, and Social Services by State Agencies. Senate Bill 
385/House Bill 327 (both passed) require the council to establish a workgroup to 
determine a process for nongovernmental entities that provide health, education, or 
social services in the State to submit documents in an electronic form to State agencies 
that license health, education, or social services programs. On or before January 1, 
2014, the council is required to submit a report to the Senate Education, Health, and 
Environmental Affairs Committee and the House Health and Government Operations 
Committee on the process determined by the workgroup. 
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Open Meetings Act 
House Bill 139 (passed) requires each public body to designate at least one individual 
who is an employee, an officer, or a member of the public body to receive training on 
the requirements of the Open Meetings Act. The public body also must forward a list of 
the individuals designated to the State Open Meetings Law Compliance Board. Within 
90 days of being designated as the individual to receive training, the individual is 
required to complete a class on the requirements of the law that is offered online by the 
Office of the Attorney General and the University of Maryland’s Institute for 
Governmental Service and Research or that is offered by the Maryland Association of 
Counties or the Maryland Municipal League through the Academy for Excellence in 
Local Governance.  
 
The State Open Meetings Law Compliance Board handles complaints alleging 
violations of the Open Meetings Act. The opinions of the board are advisory only, and 
the board may not require or compel any specific actions by a public body. A member of 
a public body that willfully participates in a meeting of the body with knowledge that the 
meeting is being held in violation of the Open Meetings Act is subject to a civil penalty of 
up to $100. Under House Bill 331 (passed), if the State Open Meetings Law 
Compliance Board determines that a violation of the Open Meetings Act has occurred, 
(1) a member of the public body must, at the public body’s next open meeting after the 
board has issued its opinion, announce the violation and orally summarize the opinion 
and (2) a majority of the public body’s members must sign and return to the board a 
copy of the opinion. These required actions are not to be considered as an admission to 
a violation and may not be used as evidence in a proceeding before a circuit court. 
However, the bill repeals a prohibition on the introduction of a written opinion of the 
board as evidence in a court proceeding. The civil penalty for meeting in violation of the 
Open Meetings Act is increased from up to $100 to (1) up to $250 for the first violation 
and (2) up to $1,000 for each subsequent violation occurring within three years after the 
first violation. When determining the amount of a fine, the court must consider the 
financial resources of the public body. 
 
For the purposes of the Open Meetings Act, with several exceptions, “public body” is 
defined as an entity that consists of at least two individuals and is created by, among 
other things, the Maryland Constitution, a State statute, or an executive order of the 
Governor. Under Senate Bill 230 (passed), that definition is expanded to include an 
entity that is created by a memorandum of understanding or a master agreement to 
which a majority of the county boards of education and the State Department of 
Education are signatories. The purpose of the change is to subject the Maryland Public 
Secondary Schools Athletic Association, which is created by a master agreement 
signed by the local superintendents of schools, to the requirements of the Open 
Meetings Act. 
 

Personnel 
Impact of Budget Actions on State Employees 
For the second consecutive year, the budget included a cost-of-living adjustment 
(COLA) for State employees – on January 1, 2014, State employees will receive a 3% 
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COLA. In addition, effective April 1, 2014, State employees performing at or above 
established standards will receive merit or step increases – the first time such an 
increase has been provided in five years. The State match of $600 for employees 
participating in deferred compensation plans, however, was not included in the budget. 
In fiscal 2014, the size of the regular State workforce, including State higher education 
institution employees, will be 79,750 positions. This number represents an increase of 
178 positions over fiscal 2013 and is within the limit established by the Spending 
Affordability Committee. 
 
Collective Bargaining 
Chapter 187 of 2009 authorized the State to collectively bargain with the exclusive 
representative of a bargaining unit for service fees from State employees who are not 
members of that exclusive representative. Employees of the State’s higher education 
institutions were not included in that Act. Senate Bill 841/House Bill 863 (both 
passed) authorize an employee organization to collectively bargain with institutions of 
the University System of Maryland, Morgan State University, St. Mary’s College of 
Maryland, and Baltimore City Community College regarding the right of the employee 
organization to collect service fees from nonmembers. If a fee is negotiated and 
collected, employees of the affected institutions whose religious beliefs preclude them 
from supporting collective bargaining organizations must make an equivalent payment 
to a charitable organization and provide written proof of payment. 
 
Compensation and Benefits 
In an effort to stem increasing health insurance and medical costs, many employers 
offer wellness programs such as smoking cessation, weight management, stress 
management, and nutrition education. Wellness programs are designed to promote 
health or prevent or detect disease or illness, improve clinical outcomes, prevent or 
reduce admission and readmissions to health care facilities, improve treatment 
compliance for chronic conditions, promote healthy behaviors, or prevent or control 
injury. Senate Bill 224/House Bill 391 (both passed) require the Secretary of Budget 
and Management to include a “wellness program” in the State Employee and Retiree 
Health and Wellness Benefits Program. The wellness program must be developed in 
consultation with the Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene; promote the goals of the 
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene State Health Improvement Process; and aim 
to achieve savings in the State plan over time, from having a healthier workforce for 
example, that exceed the costs of the wellness program. 
 
Currently, noncommissioned State Police officers and Department of Natural Resources 
law enforcement officers at the rank of sergeant or below who work on Thanksgiving, 
Christmas, or New Year’s Day are entitled to compensatory time and overtime pay. 
House Bill 665 (Ch. 131) expands the application of provisions requiring compensatory 
time and overtime pay for all State law enforcement officers who work on Thanksgiving, 
Christmas Day, or New Year’s Day. Enactment is contingent on the execution of a 
collective bargaining agreement between the State and the State Law Enforcement 
Officers’ Labor Alliance, as specified in the Act. 
 
Teleworking 
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The State Personnel Management System, University System of Maryland, and the 
Maryland Department of Transportation all have teleworking policies. House Bill 136 
(Ch. 83) establishes a goal of having 15% of eligible Executive Branch employees, 
including those in agencies with independent personnel management systems; 
participate in a statewide telework program. The Secretary of Budget and Management 
must establish the program as well as a statewide telework policy and guidelines. Each 
unit head in the Executive Branch may designate positions eligible for teleworking. 

 
Hiring Practices 
Senate Bill 4 (passed) prohibits any State appointing authority in the Executive, 
Legislative, or Judicial Branch from inquiring into the criminal record or history of an 
applicant for employment until the applicant has been given an opportunity for an 
interview. The bill includes exemptions for the Department of Public Safety and 
Correctional Services, any position for which an appointing authority is required by law 
to conduct a criminal history records check, positions in sheriffs’ offices, or any position 
within the State Personnel Management System exempted by the Secretary of Budget 
and Management. An appointing authority may still notify an applicant that prior criminal 
convictions may prohibit employment for some positions. 
 
For more information regarding retirement and pensions, please refer to the 90-day 
report, page C-20, http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/Pubs/LegisLegal/2013rs-90-day-
report.pdf. 
 

Criminal Law 
 

Controlled Dangerous Substances  
Cannabimimetic Agents 
Cannabimimetic agents, also referred to as “synthetic marijuana” or “synthetic 
cannabinoids,” are chemical substances that are not derived from the marijuana plant 
but are designed to affect the body in ways similar to THC, the primary psychoactive 
ingredient in marijuana. Synthetic cannabinoids are typically sprayed onto plant material 
and marketed under names such as “Spice” or “K2.” The popularity and availability of 
these substances has grown in recent years, and criminal enforcement of the sale and 
possession of these substances has been challenging, since manufacturers can elude 
legal bans on products by making slight changes to their chemical structures. 
 
On July 9, 2012, President Obama signed the Synthetic Drug Abuse Prevention Act of 
2012 (SDAPA). SDAPA placed 26 substances in the federal list of Schedule I controlled 
dangerous substances. Senate Bill 109/House Bill 1 (both passed) codify 
cannabimimetic agents identified under SDAPA to the State’s list of Schedule I 
controlled dangerous substances. Cannabimimetic agents are defined as substances 
that are cannabinoid receptor type 1 (CB1 receptor) agonists as demonstrated by 
binding studies and functional assays within one of several specified structural classes. 
The bills also specifically list several chemical substances that are considered 
cannabimimetic agents. 
 
 

http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/Pubs/LegisLegal/2013rs-90-day-report.pdf
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/Pubs/LegisLegal/2013rs-90-day-report.pdf
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Accessory after the Fact to Murder 
A person convicted of being an accessory after the fact to a felony is guilty of a felony 
and subject to imprisonment for up to five years or the maximum penalty for the 
underlying felony, whichever is lesser. House Bill 709 (passed) increases the 
maximum penalty for being an accessory after the fact to murder in the first or second 
degree from 5 to 10 years. 
 
Theft – Related Crimes -Penalties 
Chapter 655 of 2009 increased the maximum property value for misdemeanor theft from 
less than $500 to less than $1,000 and created the three tiers of felony theft listed 
below: 
Value of Property and/or Services - Maximum Penalty 
At least $1,000 and less than $10,000 10 years imprisonment and/or a $10,000 fine 
At least $10,000 and less than $100,000 15 years imprisonment and/or a $15,000 fine 
At least $100,000 or more 25 years imprisonment and/or a $25,000 fine 
 
House Bill 1396 (passed) modifies the penalties for several theft-related offenses to 
reflect Chapter 655, including extortion, malicious destruction of property, obtaining 
property or services by bad check, identity fraud, and exploitation of a vulnerable adult. 
The bill also amends the charging document for robbery to reflect Chapter 655 and 
amends the “Notice of Dishonored Check” form to reflect the amended penalties under 
the bill. 
 

Charging Document for Robbery 
A violator of the prohibition against committing or attempting to commit a robbery is 
guilty of a felony and is subject to imprisonment for up to 15 years. House Bill 338 (Ch. 
97) increases the minimum value of property or service specified in a charging 
document for robbery from $500 to $1,000 and makes conforming changes to the 
robbery charging document statute. 
 
The Act’s changes to the minimum value of property or service specified in a charging 
document for robbery makes the minimum property value listed in the charging 
document for felony robbery consistent with the minimum property value for felony theft. 
 
 
Reporting Death or Disappearance of a Minor 
According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, as of September 19, 2012, 
11 states have enacted legislation criminalizing the failure to report a missing or 
deceased child. House Bill 311 (passed) prohibits a parent or other person who has 
permanent care or custody or responsibility for the supervision of a minor who is under 
the age of 13 from recklessly or willfully failing to notify the appropriate law enforcement 
agency that the minor is a “missing child” within 24 hours of the time at which the parent 
or other person knew or should have known that the minor is a missing child, unless the 
disappearance of the minor has already been reported to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency. “Missing child” is defined as a minor whose whereabouts are 
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unknown to a parent or other person who has permanent care and custody or 
responsibility for the supervision of the minor. A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor 
and subject to imprisonment for up to three years. The bill also requires a parent or 
other person who has permanent care or custody or responsibility for the supervision of 
a minor to report the death of a minor to the appropriate law enforcement agency or 
medical authority within five hours of becoming aware of the death unless the death has 
already been reported to the appropriate law enforcement agency or medical authority. 
A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment for up to three years. 
 
Electronic Harassment of a Minor 
According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s 2011 Youth Risk 
Behavior Surveillance System, 16% of high school students reported being 
electronically bullied in the past year. House Bill 396 (passed), “Grace’s Law,” prohibits 
a person from using an “interactive computer service” to maliciously engage in a course 
of conduct that inflicts serious emotional distress on a minor or places a minor in 
reasonable fear of death or serious bodily injury with the intent (1) to kill, injure, harass, 
or cause serious emotional distress to the minor or (2) to place the minor in reasonable 
fear of death or serious bodily injury. An “interactive computer service” means an 
information service, system, or access software provider that provides or enables 
computer access by multiple users to a computer server, including a system that 
provides access to the Internet and cellular phones. A violator is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment for up to one year and/or a $500 maximum 
fine. 
 
The bill is named in honor of Grace McComas, a 15-year-old from Howard County who, 
after repeated and vicious harassment online by a neighbor, committed suicide in April 
2012. 
 
Aiming Laser Pointer at an Aircraft 
Under the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Modernization and Reform Act of 
2012, aiming the beam of a laser pointer at an aircraft is a crime. In June 2011, FAA 
announced 
that it would impose civil penalties against individuals who point lasers at the cockpit of 
an aircraft. According to the Federal Bureau of Investigation and FAA, there were 
3,591 laser-related incidents that affected aircrafts in calendar 2011. 
 
Subject to certain exceptions, Senate Bill 19 (passed) makes it a crime for a person to 
knowingly and willfully shine, point, or focus the beam of a laser pointer on an individual 
operating an aircraft. A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment 
for up to three years and/or a $2,500 maximum fine. 
 
Threat Against State or Local Officials 
A person may not knowingly and willfully make a threat to take the life of, kidnap, or 
cause physical injury to a State or local official. House Bill 489 (passed) adds deputy 
State’s Attorneys, assistant State’s Attorneys, and assistant Public Defenders to the list 
of State and local officials against whom threats may not be made. A violator is guilty of 
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a misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment for up to three years and/or a $2,500 
maximum fine. 
 
Animal Cruelty 
Incidents involving the use of dogs to train fighting dogs or to test the fighting or killing 
skill of another dog, a practice known as “baiting,” led to concern that existing laws  
prohibiting dog fighting were insufficient to address the problem of dog baiting. 
Senate Bill 360 (Ch. 44) prohibits a person from (1) using or allowing a dog to be used 
for baiting; (2) possessing, owning, selling, transporting, or training a dog with the intent 
to use the dog for baiting; or (3) knowingly allowing premises under the person’s 
ownership, charge, or control to be used for baiting. Violators are guilty of the felony of 
aggravated cruelty to animals and are subject to imprisonment for up to three years 
and/or a $5,000 maximum fine. Under the Act, a court may also order a violator to 
undergo and pay for psychological counseling. 
 
Victims’ Rights 
A “victim” is a person who suffers personal injury or property damage or loss directly 
resulting from a crime or delinquent act. Under Maryland law, a victim of a crime or 
delinquent act (or a representative in the event the victim is deceased, disabled, or a 
minor) has a broad range of specific rights during the criminal justice process. Most of 
the rights available to a victim of a crime in which the offender is an adult are also 
available to a victim of a delinquent act by a child.  
 
In general, a court is authorized to order a defendant or child respondent to make 
restitution for a variety of expenses incurred or property losses sustained by a victim, 
including loss of earnings. This restitution is in addition to any penalties for the 
commission of a crime or delinquent act. A victim is presumed to have a right of 
restitution if the victim or the State makes a request to the court and the court is 
presented with competent evidence of the claimed loss/expense. 
 
A judgment of restitution does not preclude the property owner or victim who suffered 
personal physical or mental injury, out-of-pocket loss of earnings, or support from 
bringing a civil action to recover damages from the restitution obligor. A civil verdict 
made in these cases must be reduced by the amount paid under the criminal judgment 
of restitution. A victim who alleges that the victim’s right to restitution was not 
considered or was improperly denied may file a motion requesting relief within 30 days 
of the denial or alleged failure to consider. If the court finds that the victim’s right to 
restitution was not considered or was improperly denied, the court may enter a 
judgment of restitution. 
 
House Bill 250 (passed) specifies that if a court finds that a victim’s right was not 
considered or was denied, the court may grant relief to the victim so long as the remedy 
does not violate a criminal defendant’s or child respondent’s constitutional right to be 
free from double jeopardy. The court is not permitted to provide a remedy that modifies 
a sentence of incarceration of a defendant or commitment of a child respondent unless 
the victim requests relief from a violation of the victim’s right within 30 days of the 
alleged violation. The bill also expands the rights of victims by establishing that a victim 
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of any crime (rather than only a victim of violent crime) has the right to file an application 
for leave to appeal to the Court of Special Appeals from an interlocutory order and has 
the right to a direct appeal to the Court of Special Appeals from a final order denying the 
victim specified victims’ rights. Finally, the bill requires that, subject to specified 
exceptions, payment of restitution to a victim has priority over any payments to any 
other person or governmental unit. 
 

Juvenile Law 
 

Out-of-home Placements 
After a child has been adjudicated delinquent, the juvenile court, at a disposition 
hearing, may place the child under supervision in the child’s own home or in the custody 
or under the guardianship of a relative or other fit person, on terms the court deems 
appropriate, including community detention. A child may also be committed to the 
custody or guardianship of the Department of Juvenile Services (DJS) or other agency 
on terms that the court considers appropriate, including designation of the type of facility 
where the child is to be accommodated. 
 
The court may also order the child or the child’s parents, guardian, or custodian to 
participate in rehabilitative services that are in the best interest of the child and the 
family. House Bill 916 (passed) prohibits a child from being committed to DJS for out-
of-home placement if the most serious offense for which the child has been adjudicated 
is (1) possession of marijuana; (2) possession or purchase of a noncontrolled 
substance; (3) disturbing the peace or disorderly conduct; (4) malicious destruction of 
property; (5) an offense involving inhalants; (6) an offense involving prostitution; (7) theft 
involving amounts less than $1,000; or (8) trespass. A child whose most serious offense 
is one specified above may be committed to DJS for out-of-home placement if (1) the 
child previously has been adjudicated delinquent for three or more offenses arising from 
separate and independent circumstances; (2) the child waives the prohibition and the 
court accepts the waiver as knowing, intelligent, and voluntary; or (3) the court makes a 
written finding, including the specific facts supporting the finding, that the placement is 
necessary for the welfare of the child or in the interest of public safety. The Act may not 
be construed to prohibit the court from committing the child to another appropriate 
agency. 
 
Disclosure to Out-of-state Agencies 
Confidentiality of Juvenile Records 
In general, a court record concerning a child is confidential and its contents may not be 
divulged, by subpoena or otherwise, except by court order upon a showing of good 
cause or in certain circumstances relating to notification of a local superintendent or 
nonpublic school principal on the arrest of a child for specified offenses. This prohibition 
does not restrict access to and the use of court records or fingerprints in court 
proceedings involving the child by personnel of the court, the State’s Attorney, counsel 
for the child, a court-appointed special advocate for the child, or authorized personnel of 
DJS. Subject to certain exceptions, the restriction also does not prohibit access to and 
confidential use of the court record or fingerprints of a child by DJS or in an investigation 
and prosecution by a law enforcement agency. 
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DJS is currently authorized to provide access to and the confidential use of a treatment 
plan of a child by an agency in the District of Columbia or a state agency in Virginia if 
the agency (1) performs the same functions in its jurisdiction as DJS does in Maryland; 
(2) has a reciprocity agreement with Maryland; and (3) has custody of the child. A 
shared record may only provide information that is relevant to the supervision, care, and 
treatment of the child. House Bill 264 (passed) expands access to juvenile records by 
authorizing access to juvenile court records by any agency described above or by any 
State agency in Delaware, Pennsylvania, or West Virginia that meets the established 
criteria. The bill also repeals the requirement that the agency have custody of the child 
in order to obtain access to the information. 
 
Access by Baltimore City Health Department 
Chapter 10 of 2006 established the authority of the Baltimore City Health Department 
(BCHD) to access various records of children who were victims of violence or who were 
under the health department’s care. Chapters 602 and 603 of 2008 extended the 
original termination date of Chapter 10 to September 30, 2011, and authorized BCHD to 
also access records as they pertained to a child who committed a crime that caused a 
death or near fatality. Senate Bill 473/House Bill 588 (both passed) allows BCHD’s 
Office of Youth Violence Prevention (OYVP) access to child in need of assistance 
records and juvenile delinquency court and police records if (1) OYVP is providing 
treatment or care to a child and the disclosure is related to that purpose; (2) the record 
concerns a child convicted of a crime or adjudicated delinquent for an act that caused a 
death or near fatality; or (3) the record concerns a victim of a “crime of violence,” who is 
a child residing in Baltimore City, for the purpose of developing appropriate programs 
and policies aimed at reducing violence against children in Baltimore City. 
 
Reports or records concerning child abuse or neglect must also be disclosed, on a 
written request, to OYVP if the above circumstances apply. On written request, DJS 
must disclose to OYVP any confidential research records concerning a child if any of 
the above circumstances apply. OYVP must keep confidential any information provided, 
is liable for unauthorized release of information, and must submit a report detailing the 
purposes for which a record under the Act is used. 
 
The Baltimore City Mayor’s Office on Criminal Justice (BCMOCJ) may also access 
juvenile police records if it is providing programs and services to a child who is the 
subject of the record for related purposes. BCMOCJ may also have access to and 
confidential use of a court record if it is providing programs and services in conjunction 
with the Baltimore Police Department to a child who is the subject of the record, for a 
purpose relevant to the provision of the programs and services and development of a 
comprehensive treatment plan. 
 
The Department of State Police (DSP) must provide to OYVP and BCMOCJ, on written 
request, information concerning (1) a victim of a “crime of violence” who is a child 
residing in Baltimore City and (2) a child convicted of a crime or adjudicated delinquent 
for an act that caused a death or near fatality. OYVP and BCMOCJ must keep any 
information provided confidential and use the information solely to develop appropriate 
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programs and policies, as specified. OYVP and BCMOCJ are liable for the unauthorized 
release of information provided by DSP. 
 
Task Force on Juvenile Court Jurisdiction 
In general, the juvenile court has jurisdiction over a child alleged to be delinquent, in 
need of supervision, or who has received a citation for alcoholic beverage violations. 
The juvenile court may waive jurisdiction over a child alleged to be delinquent who is 
age 15 or older, or who is younger than age 15 and is charged with committing an act 
which, if committed by an adult, would be punishable by death or life imprisonment. The 
court may waive its jurisdiction only after it has conducted a waiver hearing held prior to 
the adjudicatory hearing and after notice has been given to all parties. The court may 
not waive its jurisdiction over a case unless it determines, from a preponderance of the 
evidence presented at the hearing, that the child is an unfit subject for juvenile 
rehabilitative measures. 
 
The juvenile court does not have jurisdiction over children at least age 16 who are 
alleged to have committed specified violent crimes, children age 14 and older charged 
with a capital crime, and children who have previously been convicted as an adult of a 
felony and are subsequently alleged to have committed an act that would be a felony if 
committed by an adult. However, a circuit court may transfer a case involving such a 
child to the juvenile court if such a transfer is believed to be in the interests of the child 
or society (“reverse waiver”). 
 
House Bill 786 (passed) establishes the Task Force on Juvenile Court Jurisdiction. 
The task force is required to (1) study current laws relating to the jurisdiction of the 
juvenile court and (2) review current research on best practices for handling offenses 
committed by youth in the court system. In addition, the Task Force must make 
recommendations regarding (1) whether or not to eliminate the existing exclusionary 
offenses that automatically result in adult charges for youth and restore juvenile court 
discretion; (2) the benefits of retaining youth under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court; 
(3) methods to reduce the number of youth in adult detention centers and prisons; and 
(4) the long-term fiscal impact of treating youth in the adult criminal system. The 
Governor’s Office of Crime Control and Prevention is required to provide staff for the 
task force. The task force must report its findings and recommendations to the Governor 
and the General Assembly on or before December 1, 2013. The task force terminates 
on May 31, 2014. 
 
Graduated Responses Report 
In 2008, the Violence Prevention Initiative (VPI) began in Baltimore City and expanded 
statewide. VPI is an intensive supervision program intended to reduce the number of 
juvenile homicides and nonfatal shootings. It focuses on youth under supervision who 
are believed to be at high risk of either violent offending or violent victimization. VPI 
includes intensive surveillance with frequent contacts with youth at nontraditional hours 
on evenings and weekends and electronic monitoring, as well as enhanced service 
delivery such as drug treatment and employment training. VPI incorporates a continuum 
of graduated responses to ensure that immediate and appropriate actions are 
consistently applied when juveniles are noncompliant.  
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Senate Bill 536/House Bill 604 (both passed) require DJS to report to the Senate 
Judicial Proceedings and House Judiciary committees, by December 1, 2014, on the 
implementation of a system of “graduated responses” for children under the jurisdiction 
of DJS. “Graduated responses” means an accountability-based series of sanctions, 
including incentives, treatment, and services, applicable to children within the juvenile 
justice system, administered to hold children accountable for their actions, and to 
protect communities from the effects of juvenile delinquency by providing appropriate 
sanctions for every act for which a child is adjudicated delinquent, by encouraging law-
abiding behavior, and by preventing subsequent involvement in the juvenile justice 
system. 
 
Prince George’s County Juvenile Court and School Safety Workgroup 
House Bill 1338 (passed) creates the Prince George’s County Juvenile Court and 
School Safety Workgroup, which is to be staffed by DJS. The workgroup is required to 
(1) review and analyze school arrest and referral data collected by DJS and the Prince 
George’s County School System and based on that data, identify the most common 
offenses for which students are arrested and referred to juvenile court; (2) recommend 
interagency policies to reduce the number of school-based arrests and referrals for 
certain misdemeanor offenses to DJS and the juvenile court by diverting more youth to 
school- and community-based programs, with the goal to decrease the  
overrepresentation of African American youth in the juvenile justice system; (3) 
recommend strategies to more fully use current resources and expand school- and 
community-based support services for youth who exhibit behavior problems in school; 
(4) recommend a criteria-based, decision making process for referring students to 
school- or community-based programs and services instead of to the juvenile justice 
system for misdemeanor-type delinquent acts involving offenses identified by the 
workgroup; (5) recommend criteria for diversion programs developed for juveniles who 
have been charged with less serious delinquent acts and who the juvenile court 
believes would benefit from community alternatives instead of probation or commitment 
to DJS; (6) hold at least two public meetings before October 1, 2013, during which the 
workgroup seeks testimony from the public and juvenile advocacy groups; and (7) 
develop a collaborative action plan to reduce the number of school-based arrests and 
referrals to the juvenile court.  
The workgroup must report its findings, action plan, and recommendations by 
December 15, 2013. 
 
Extension of Child in Need of Supervision Pilot Program 
Under Chapter 601 of 2005, the Secretary of Juvenile Services was required to 
establish a DJS Child In Need of Supervision (CINS) Pilot Program in Baltimore City 
and Baltimore County. Under the pilot program, local management boards must select 
community-based providers that offer assessment, intervention, and referral services to 
children in Baltimore City and Baltimore County who are alleged to be in need of 
supervision. The designated assessment service providers must be contracted and 
funded by the local management board in Baltimore City and Baltimore County. The 
Governor was required to include $250,000 annually in the fiscal 2007 through 2010 
State budgets. Chapter 420 of 2009 extended the termination date of the pilot program 
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to June 30, 2013, and continued the requirement for the Governor to include $250,000 
annually in the fiscal 2011 through 2013 State budgets. House Bill 1320 (passed) 
extends to June 30, 2016, the termination date of the CINS Pilot Program in Baltimore 
City and Baltimore County. 
 

Public Safety 
 

Firearm Safety Act of 2013 
In 2012, a series of mass killings shocked the nation. Among those horrific events were 
two of the deadliest shootings in United States history: the July 20 incident in an Aurora, 
Colorado movie theater, in which 12 people died and 70 people were injured; and the 
December 14 massacre of 20 children and 6 adults in a Newtown, Connecticut 
elementary school. In response, several states, including Maryland, New York, 
Connecticut, and Colorado passed sweeping gun control legislation. 
 
Senate Bill 281 (passed) is Maryland’s most far-reaching package of gun control 
measures in several years. The numerous provisions of the bill are distilled from more 
than three dozen gun control proposals that were introduced in the General Assembly. 
 
Assault Weapons 
The bill creates a definition of “assault weapon,” encompassing assault pistols, assault 
long guns, and copycat weapons. “Assault pistol” is already defined under the Public 
Safety Article. An “assault long gun” is defined as any of 45 specific assault weapons 
regulated under the Public Safety Article. Finally, the bill defines “copycat weapon” as a 
weapon that is a semiautomatic pistol, semiautomatic centerfire rifle, or semiautomatic 
shotgun and that has specified features. 
 
The bill applies prohibitions now directed only to assault pistols to all assault weapons. 
Thus, with specified exceptions, the bill prohibits the transporting, possessing, selling, 
offering to sell, transferring, purchasing, or receiving any assault weapon. 
The bill allows a person who lawfully possessed, has a purchase order for, or completed 
an application to purchase an assault long gun or a copycat weapon before October 1, 
2013, to continue to possess and transport the assault long gun or copycat weapon or, 
if carrying a court order requiring surrender of the weapon, transport the unloaded 
weapon directly to a law enforcement unit, having notified the unit of the transport. A 
number of specified persons and circumstances are exempted from the prohibitions 
related to the possession of assault weapons and detachable magazines. 
Senate Bill 281 clarifies that certain assault weapon possession prohibitions do not 
apply to those received by inheritance, if the inheriting person is not otherwise 
disqualified from possessing a regulated firearm. The bill also includes within the 
definition of “convicted of a disqualifying crime” a case in which a person received 
probation before judgment for a crime of violence or a domestically related crime. 
“Convicted of a disqualifying crime” does not include a case in which a person received 
a probation before judgment for an assault in the second degree or that was expunged. 
 
10-Round Limit on Magazines 
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The bill reduces the allowable detachable magazine capacity for the manufacture, sale, 
purchase, receipt, or transfer in the State from 20 to 10 rounds of ammunition for a 
firearm. The bill similarly reduces referenced limits on magazine capacities under 
penalty provisions applicable to use of an assault weapon in the commission of a felony 
or crime of violence. 
 
Ammunition 
The bill prohibits a person, during and in relation to the commission of a crime of 
violence, from possessing or using “restricted firearm ammunition.” “Restricted firearm 
ammunition” is defined as a cartridge, shell, or any other device that (1) contains 
explosive or incendiary material designed and intended for use in a firearm and (2) has 
a core constructed, excluding traces of other substances, entirely from one or a 
combination of tungsten alloys, steel, iron, brass, beryllium copper, depleted uranium, or 
an equivalent material of similar density or hardness. A violator is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding five years or 
a fine not exceeding $5,000 or both. The bill also prohibits the possession or use of 
restricted firearm ammunition (sometimes called “cop killer bullets”) during or in relation 
to the commission of a crime of violence. 
 
Handgun Qualification License 
Under Senate Bill 281, a new licensing scheme for handguns under the licensing 
authority of the Department of State Police (DSP) is established. A “handgun 
qualification license” authorizes a person to purchase, rent, or receive a handgun. A 
licensed firearms manufacturer, a specified active or retired law enforcement officer, a 
member or retired member of the U.S. Armed Forces, or the National Guard, and a 
person purchasing, renting, or receiving an antique, curio, or relic firearm (as defined 
under federal law) are exempt from the requirements of the licensing provisions. 
The Secretary of State Police is also required to apply for a State and national criminal 
history records check on behalf of each handgun applicant. As part of the application for 
a criminal history records check, the Secretary must submit one complete set of 
fingerprints of the applicant. An individual whose fingerprints have been submitted for a 
license, but whose application has been denied, may request that the record of the 
fingerprints be expunged. The individual may not be charged a fee for the 
expungement. The bill requires written approval or denial by DSP within 30 days. 
 
The application fee for a handgun qualification license is to cover administrative costs 
and may be up to $50. The term of the license is 10 years. License renewal fees are set 
at up to $20. Among other requirements, an applicant must show proof of completion of 
an approved firearms safety training course. An applicant, however, is exempt from this 
requirement If the applicant has previously completed a certified firearms training 
course, has completed a hunting safety course prescribed by the Department of Natural 
Resources, is a certified firearms instructor, is an honorably discharged member of the 
U.S. Armed Forces or the National Guard, is a certain employee of an armored car 
company, or lawfully owns a regulated firearm. Renewal applicants are not required to 
complete the firearms safety training course or submit to a State and national criminal 
history records check. 
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Restrictions on the Mentally Ill 
A person may not possess a regulated firearm, rifle, or shotgun if the person: 

suffers from a mental disorder as defined in § 10-101(f)(2) of the Health–General 
Article and has a history of violent behavior against the person or another; 

has been found incompetent to stand trial or not criminally responsible in a criminal 
case; 

has been voluntarily admitted for more than 30 consecutive days to a facility (i.e., a 
public or private clinic, hospital or other institution that treats individuals who have 
mental disorders); 

has been involuntarily committed to a facility; or 
is under the protection of a court-appointed guardian of the property or guardian of 

the person, except for cases in which the appointment of a guardian is solely a result of 
a physical disability. 
 
If a hearing officer determines that an individual cannot safely possess a firearm, the 
hearing officer must order the individual to surrender any firearms in the individual’s 
possession and refrain from possessing a firearm unless the individual is granted relief 
from firearms disqualification. 
 
Relief from Firearms Disqualification 
A person seeking relief from firearms disqualification may apply to the Department of 
Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH). An application for relief must include a statement 
why the applicant is prohibited from possessing a regulated firearm, rifle, or shotgun; a 
statement why the applicant should be relieved from that prohibition; authorization for 
DHMH to access health and criminal records; three statements related to the applicant’s 
reputation and character; and, if the applicant is prohibited for certain mental health 
reasons, a certificate issued within 30 days of the submission of the application on a 
form signed by an individual licensed in the State as a physician who is board certified 
in psychiatry or as a psychologist stating: 

the length of time that the applicant has not had symptoms that cause the applicant to 
be a danger to self or others; 

the length of time that the applicant has been compliant with the treatment plan for 
the applicant’s mental illness; and 

an opinion as to whether the applicant, because of mental illness, would be a danger 
to the applicant or to another person if allowed to possess a firearm. 
 
Within 60 days after the receipt of a completed application, DHMH must provide the 
applicant with a certificate affirming the applicant’s mental competence or a written 
statement that the applicant is not mentally competent to possess a firearm. An 
aggrieved applicant may request a hearing in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, and judicial review may be sought. 
 
A physician who acts in good faith and with reasonable grounds in providing the 
statements and opinions required by the restoration process may not be held civilly or 
criminally liable for those actions.  
 
Persons Moving into the State 
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A person who moves into the State with the intent of residency must register all 
regulated firearms with DSP within 90 days after establishing residency. 
 
Lost or Stolen Firearms – Reporting Requirements 
A dealer or any other person who sells or transfers a firearm must notify the purchaser 
or recipient of the firearm at the time of purchase or transfer that the purchaser or 
recipient is required to report a lost or stolen firearm to the local law enforcement 
agency. If a firearm is lost or stolen, the owner of the firearm must report the loss or 
theft to the local law enforcement agency within 72 hours after the owner first discovers 
the loss or theft. On receipt of a report of a lost or stolen firearm, a local law 
enforcement agency must report to the Secretary and enter into the National Crime 
Information Center (NCIC) database, to the extent known, the caliber, make, model, 
manufacturer, and serial number of the firearm and any other distinguishing number or 
identification mark on the firearm. A knowing and willful first-time violation is a civil 
offense punishable by a fine not exceeding $500. A second or subsequent violation is a 
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment not exceeding 90 days and/or a fine not 
exceeding $500. 
 
Firearm Dealers 
Senate Bill 281 requires the disapproval of an application for a State-regulated firearms 
dealer’s license if it is determined that the applicant intends that a person not qualified 
for a license or whose license has been revoked or suspended will participate in the 
management or operation of the business or holds an interest in the business. The bill 
requires that a licensed dealer keep records of all receipts, sales, and other dispositions 
of firearms affected in connection with the dealer’s business, as specified. DSP must 
adopt regulations governing the form in which the records are to be kept, the time 
period for keeping the records, and the contents of the records, which must include 
specified information. DSP must inspect the inventory and records of a licensed dealer 
at least once every two years, and may inspect the inventory and records at any time 
during the normal business hours of the licensed dealer’s business. Unless a 
recordkeeping or reporting error is inconsequential, a violator is subject to certain civil 
penalties. 
 
A suspended license may be restored after a licensee provides evidence that the 
violation has been corrected. 
 
Records Inspections 
A custodian must deny inspection of all records of a person authorized to (1) sell, 
purchase, rent, or transfer a regulated firearm; or (2) carry, wear, or transport a 
handgun. However, a custodian may allow inspection of firearm or handgun records by 
the individual named in the record or the individual’s attorney. These provisions may not 
be construed to prohibit DSP or the Department of Public Safety and Correctional 
Services (DPSCS) from accessing firearm or handgun records in the performance of 
that department’s official duty. 
 
Carrying a Firearm on School Property 
The bill exempts from the prohibition against carrying a firearm, knife, or other deadly 
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weapon on public school property an off-duty law enforcement officer who is a parent, 
guardian, or visitor of a student attending the school, provided that the officer is 
displaying the officer’s badge or credential, and the weapon is concealed. 
 
Hunting Near Schools 
A person, while hunting for any wild bird or mammal, may not shoot or discharge any 
firearm within 300 yards of any school during school hours or at a time when a school-
approved activity is taking place. 
 
Estimated Costs and Revenues 
General fund revenues increase by $3.9 million in fiscal 2014 from handgun  
qualification licensing fees and voluntary registrations of other firearms. General fund 
expenditures increase by $3.4 million in fiscal 2014 for licensing and registration, 
programming, and other activities within several agencies. The fiscal 2014 operating 
budget contains $4.2 million in general funds, contingent upon enactment of the bill, for 
DSP to implement the bill. The fiscal 2014 operating budget also provides $450,000 in 
general funds to support the Gun Center, also contingent upon the enactment of the bill. 
 
School Safety 
House Bill 453 (passed) establishes the Maryland Center for School Safety as an 
independent unit of State government to be based at Bowie State University (BSU). The 
Governor must provide $500,000 in the annual State budget for the center. The center 
may establish three satellite offices at institutions of higher education as specified. 
 
The bill identifies 20 functions and duties of the center that provide a comprehensive, 
coordinated approach to school safety, including developing a website containing a 
searchable database of school safety resources, assisting local school systems in 
conducting a thorough assessment of their school safety data, assisting local school 
systems with school building layouts and use of human resources for monitoring school 
safety measures, and assisting local school systems to improve and monitor traffic 
control measures around schools to reduce the potential for accidents. 
 
In addition, Senate Bill 143/House Bill 983 (both passed) require local boards of 
education to evaluate emergency management plans in each public school by February 
1, 2014. 
 
Other Firearms Initiatives 
It is also noted that a total of 81 bills were introduced during the 2013 session 
addressing firearms and related issues. Among these other bills were additional 
initiatives of a “gun control” nature, and others easing restrictions on acquiring handgun 
permits, permitting school personnel to carry firearms or other weapons, or stiffening 
sentencing for firearm offenses. While some of these other bills were blended into 
Senate Bill 281, most failed. 
 
Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services 
Correctional Training Commission 
Senate Bill 441 (Ch. 55) adds two members to the Correctional Training Commission: 
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one representative of the Department of Juvenile Services designated by the Secretary 
of Juvenile Services and one correctional officer of the State recommended by the 
exclusive representative for the officers and appointed by the Governor 
 

Human Services  
 

Mandatory Reporting  
Health care practitioners, police officers, educators, and human service workers who 
are acting in a professional capacity, and who have reason to believe that a child has 
been subjected to abuse or neglect, must notify the local department of social services 
or the appropriate law enforcement agency. An “educator or human service worker” 
includes any teacher, counselor, social worker, caseworker, and parole or probation 
officer. If the worker is acting as a staff member of a hospital, public health agency, child 
care institution, juvenile detention center, school, or similar institution, then the 
individual must also notify the head of the institution or the designee of the head. 
House Bill 631 (passed) prohibits an individual from intentionally preventing or 
interfering with the making of a mandatory report of suspected child abuse or neglect by 
a professional specified above. An individual is also prohibited from intentionally 
preventing or interfering with the making of a mandatory report of suspected abuse or 
neglect of a child who lives outside of this State that is alleged to have occurred outside 
the State. A person who violates these provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor and 
subject to maximum penalties of five years imprisonment and/or a $10,000 fine. 
 
Housing and Supportive Services for Unaccompanied Homeless Youth 
Senate Bill 764/House Bill 823 (both passed) establish the Task Force to Study 
Housing and Supportive Services for Unaccompanied Homeless Youth between the 
ages of 14 and 25. The task force, chaired by a representative from the Governor’s 
Office for Children, will compile information on the needs of unaccompanied homeless 
youth and identify the gaps in public- and private-sector programs and resources 
available to meet those needs. The task force must report its findings and 
recommendations to the Governor and the General Assembly by November 1, 2013. 
 

Education 
 

Truant Students 
A child age 5 to 15 must attend public school regularly unless the child is otherwise 
receiving regular, thorough instruction in an alternative setting (i.e., a private or home 
school). 
 
Regulations specify that a record of the daily attendance of each student must be kept 
in accordance with the Maryland Student Records System Manual (2011). Unlawful 
absence is any absence that does not meet 1 of 10 conditions in regulation. Each local 
school system is required to develop a student attendance policy that includes penalties 
for not meeting attendance standards and actions that will be taken when a student is  
unlawfully absent. The attendance monitoring procedure must include early intervention 
and chronic absenteeism strategies and procedures. Students who are chronically 
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absent must be referred to pupil services or other central office professionals for case 
management.  
 
Poor attendance is a key warning sign that a student may drop out of high school. One 
study of Chicago public schools found that missing 20% of the school days in grade 9 is 
a better predictor of whether a student is going to drop out than grade 8 test scores. In 
order to address this issue, House Bill 207 (passed) requires each local board of 
education to develop a system of active intervention for students who are truant. Any 
student attending kindergarten through grade 12 who is truant, which is defined as 
being unlawfully absent more than 8 school days in any quarter, 15 days in any 
semester, or 20 days in a school year, must immediately be referred for intervention. 
Further, the bill makes clear that a local board of education may intervene in the case of 
a student who is frequently absent from school for both lawful and unlawful purposes 
even if the student is not a truant student as defined in the bill. 
 
 
Prince George’s County – School System Governance 
The structure of the Prince George’s County Board of Education has been changed 
several times over the past two decades. In 2002, Chapter 289 eliminated the then-
elected county board and established a new board that consisted of nine voting 
members, jointly appointed by the County Executive of Prince George’s County and the 
Governor from a list of nominees submitted by the State Board of Education, and one 
student member with limited voting privileges. The new board members took office June 
1, 2002, and their terms expired December 3, 2006. Chapter 289 also eliminated the 
existing Prince George’s County Superintendent of Schools position and replaced it with 
a chief executive officer (CEO) who was responsible for the overall administration of the 
county public school system. The CEO’s contract, which could not exceed four years, 
provided that continued employment was contingent on demonstrable improvement in 
student performance and successful management of the school system. The provisions 
establishing the CEO and the CEO’s responsibilities expired on June 30, 2006. 
 
Pursuant to Chapter 289, on December 4, 2006, a county board consisting of nine  
newly elected members and one student member replaced the appointed board. Four 
members were elected from anywhere in the county, and the remaining five members 
were each elected from a different school board district. Then, in 2008, Chapters 348 
and 349 established the current elected board structure, which was implemented 
following the 2010 general election. This elected board consists of nine elected 
members, each residing in one of nine school board districts, as well as one student 
member with limited voting rights. Each candidate must be a registered voter and a 
resident of the school board district the candidate intends to represent. 
Board members are elected by the registered voters of each school board district and 
serve four-year terms. A board member may not hold another office of profit in county 
government during the member’s term. A seat on the board remains vacant if the 
vacancy occurs within 180 days of the end of the member’s term; otherwise a special 
election is held to fill the vacancy. The county board has the authority to determine the 
geographical attendance area for each public school and to consolidate schools if 
practicable. 
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House Bill 1107 (Ch. 147) revises the governance of the Prince George’s County 
public school system by restructuring the county board; enhancing the authority of the 
Prince George’s County Superintendent of Schools – redesignated to be the CEO; and 
giving the County Executive of Prince George’s County additional authority to select the 
CEO while reducing the authority of the county board. With the changes, Prince 
George’s County becomes one of three counties that have a hybrid school board 
consisting of appointed and elected members (the other counties are Caroline and 
Harford). The Act takes effect June 1, 2013. 
 
The legislation alters the membership of the county board by adding four appointed 
members to the existing elected board. The county executive appoints three of the 
members, one of whom must possess education experience; one must possess 
business, finance, or higher education experience; and one must have management 
experience. The Prince George’s County Council appoints one member who must be a 
parent of a student in the county school system. 
 
Each appointed member must be a resident of Prince George’s County. The initial 
terms of the new positions are staggered and subsequent terms are for four years. The 
county executive must appoint the chair and vice chair from among the members of the 
county board, with the vice chair selected from the elected members, for two-year 
terms. If a seat held by an elected member becomes vacant, the county executive must 
appoint a qualified individual for the remainder of the term, with the appointment subject 
to rejection by a two-thirds vote of the county council. 
 
The county executive must select the CEO from a list of three nominees recommended 
by a search committee composed of State and local representatives. The county board 
must appoint the CEO after agreement on contract terms negotiated by the chair of the 
county board. The CEO serves a four-year term beginning on July 1, but may be 
appointed after July 1 to fill the current vacancy. 
 
The purpose of the county board is codified as intending to raise the level of academic 
achievement of the students and to raise the level of engagement of the parents, 
students, and community as a whole. The CEO is responsible for the day-to-day 
management and operation of the school system, including the budget, the 
development and implementation of curriculum, the hiring and setting of salaries of the 
executive officers and staff in the office of the CEO, and the execution of a 
memorandum of understanding with institutions of higher education in the county 
for the provision of policy analysis and advice.  House Bill 1107 specifies that the 
county board may not contradict any action other than a personnel action by the CEO 
unless two-thirds of the members vote to countermand the action. Personnel matters 
and appeals of personnel matters require a simple majority of board members to 
overturn a decision of the CEO, as they do under current law. Under the legislation, the 
CEO may consolidate schools in the county if considered practicable, but the county 
board’s responsibility for the geographical attendance areas of the schools is 
maintained. The CEO and the county board must hire a consultant to conduct a school  
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utilization study and make recommendations, by December 1, 2014, regarding the 
geographical attendance areas and possible consolidation of schools. 
 
Finally, the Act requires the county executive, the CEO, and the county board to submit 
an interim report on the implementation of the Act to relevant committees of the General 
Assembly by December 31, 2013, and, by December 31, 2017, a final report on the 
academic progress and improvement in the management of the school system and 
recommendations as to whether the provisions of the Act should continue. 

 

Commercial Law – Consumer Protection 
 

Security Freezes – Children in Foster Care Settings 
In recent years, the General Assembly has passed several bills enabling consumers to 
fight identity theft, including the placing of a security freeze on personal credit records. 
In 2012, protection of security freezes was extended to parents or guardians of children 
and those under guardianship, whose credit records were considered especially 
vulnerable to identity theft. 
 
Senate Bill 897/House Bill 1297 (both passed) establish a mandatory process for 
placing security freezes on the records of children in foster care. The bills require a 
consumer reporting agency to place, on request of the Department of Human 
Resources (DHR), a security freeze for a child who is in the custody of a local 
department of social services and has been placed in a foster care setting. At least once 
a year, DHR must electronically transmit to each consumer reporting agency a list of 
children who are in the custody of a local department and have been placed in a foster 
care setting for the first time. DHR also must request a security freeze for each child on 
the list. The placement of a security freeze prohibits an agency from releasing the 
child’s consumer report, any information derived from the consumer report, or any 
record created for the child. 
 
If a consumer reporting agency does not have a file pertaining to a child when the 
agency receives a request for a security freeze from DHR, the agency must create a 
record for the child. If the agency has a file pertaining to the child, the local department 
of social services or the Montgomery County Department of Health and Human 
Services must act as the child’s representative to resolve any issues with the file. The 
security freeze for a child must remain in effect until either the child or DHR requests the 
removal of the security freeze. A consumer reporting agency must place or remove a 
security freeze within 30 days after receiving a valid request. The exclusive remedy of a 
violation of a provision of the bills is a complaint filed with the Commissioner of Financial 
Regulation. 
 
Senate Bill 897/House Bill 1297 also require the Department of Juvenile Services 
(DJS) to evaluate whether it is practicable, appropriate, and necessary for DJS to be 
authorized to make a request for a security freeze for the consumer record of each child 
in the custody of DJS. The bills require DJS to report its findings to the Senate Finance 
Committee and House Economic Matters Committee on or before December 1, 2013. 
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New Substantive Crimes 
  

It is necessary for the agency to continually update computer database information to 
reflect additions, modifications, or deletions of substantive crimes in Maryland. Below is 
a chart of new crimes and modifications to existing crimes that should be updated in 
DJS case management and operations computer systems. 

 
 

Bill # / Title  Synopsis Code Section Effective Date 
HB 1 
SB 109 

Criminal Law - 
Cannabimimetic 
Agents – Prohibition 

Listing cannabimimetic agents on Schedule I 
for purposes of designating controlled 
dangerous substances that may not be legally 
used, possessed, or distributed; and defining 
cannabimimetic agents. 

Crim. Law §5-402 10/1/2013 

HB 311   
Crimes - Requirement 
to Report Death or 
Disappearance of 
Minor – Penalties 

Requiring, under specified circumstances, a 
parent or other person who has permanent 
care or custody or responsibility for the 
supervision of a minor under the age of 13 to 
notify within 24 hours the appropriate law 
enforcement agency that the minor is a 
missing child; requiring, under specified 
circumstances, a parent or specified other 
person to notify, within 5 hours, the 
appropriate law enforcement agency or 
medical authority that the minor has died; etc. 

Crim. Law §3-608, 
609 

10/1/2013 

HB 396   
Criminal Law - Misuse 
of Interactive 
Computer Service 
(Grace's Law) 

Prohibiting a person from using an interactive 
computer service to maliciously engage in a 
specified course of conduct that inflicts 
serious emotional distress on a minor or 
places a minor in reasonable fear of death or 
serious bodily injury under specified 
circumstances; and defining terms. 

Crim. Law §3-805 10/1/2013 

HB 489 
Criminal Law - Threat 
Against State or Local 
Official – Expansion 

Making it a misdemeanor to knowingly and 
willfully make specified threats against a 
deputy State's Attorney, an assistant State's 
Attorney, or an Assistant Public Defender; and 
imposing penalties. 

Crim. Law §3-708 10/1/2013 

HB 542 
SB 360  
Criminal Law - 
Aggravated Animal 
Cruelty – Baiting 

Prohibiting a person from using or allowing a 
dog to be used for baiting; prohibiting a 
person from possessing, owning, selling, 
transporting, or training a dog with the intent 
to use the dog for baiting; and prohibiting a 
person from knowingly allowing specified 
premises to be used for baiting. 

Crim. Law §10-607 10/1/2013 

SB 19   
Crimes - Aiming Laser 
Pointer at Aircraft 

Making it a misdemeanor to knowingly and 
willfully shine, point, or focus the beam of a 
laser pointer on an individual operating an 
aircraft; exempting specified individuals under 
specified circumstances from provisions of the 
Act; and specifying a penalty. 

Crim. Law §3-807 10/1/2013 


